The William Greaves Trophy 2018


The William Greaves Trophy

The William Greaves Trophy, formerly the British Land Kids Cricket League, launched in 2018. The league continued to build on the success of previous years with competitions taking place in 14 inner-London boroughs, followed by a semi-finals round and a grand finals day at the MCC Academy, Lords.

Following months of hard fought competition, eight teams (listed below) made it to the Lords with the final coming down to Elmhurst Primary, 2016 champions, from Newham and Little Ealing Primary, 2017 runners up, from Ealing.

Little Ealing batted first and got off to a steady start as they took 17 runs from the first 3 overs with Cala the only batter to have fallen. Tight bowling in the middle overs from Viret, Aaliyah and Ahsan ensured Little Ealing could not score freely, but, with Salma and Billy (who would both make 15 not out) at the crease, they managed to keep a steady run rate.

Some Background on William Greaves

William Greaves, known as Bill to friends and colleagues, along with Haydn Turner, founded Capital Kids Cricket in 1989 and remained as a trustee for the charity until his death. He was a noted journalist, writing for most of the national papers on mostly off beat matters.

Bill played an instrumental role in establishing the charity and securing its long term future through writing funding bids, using his skills as a journalist to give the charity national publicity or promoting new ideas to get kids playing cricket.

Following Bill’s death, we took the decision to rename the indoor primary school league in his honour.

Elmhurst Primary

Furzedown Primary

Grasmere Primary

Little Ealing Primary

Middle Park Primary

Newport Primary

New End Primary

Rhodes Avenue Primary