British Land Inclusive Cricket League 2017

On Friday, 14th July 2017, eight primary schools from London participated in the British Land Inclusive Cricket League Finals 2017. The finals once again took place at the MCC Cricket Academy at Lord’s Cricket Ground.

The schools who attended represented the London boroughs of New End Primary from Camden, Gillespie Primary from Islington, Salisbury Primary from Newham, Hague Primary from Tower Hamlets, Jubilee Primary from Hackney and Redriff Primary from Southwark.

This year’s competition had a different format to previous years with two separate groups playing. This enabled children with similar abilities to play matches against each other and, therefore, all the games were very competitive. Each group consisted of four teams and operated with a league format i.e. everyone played each other once.

From Group 1, Hague Primary school (Tower Hamlets) came out on top with Redriff Primary (Southwark) coming in second.

From Group 2, Gillespie Primary (Islington) came first and last year’s winners, Salisbury Primary, came in second.

A number of London Borough Mayors attended this year’s competition. These were:

Cllr. Una O’Halloran – Mayor of Islington
Cllr. Richard Cotton – Mayor of Camden
Cllr. Jamille Mohammed – Deputy Mayor of Southwark
Cllr. Ian Adams – Lord Mayor of Westminster

In addition to the Mayors, we also had other special guests in attendance, these were:

Joanne Hammond, British Land
Ricky Reynolds, Community Development Manager, Marylebone Cricket Club
Patrick Ward, Cricket Development Manager (Disability/South Board), Essex County Cricket Board
Chris Rowley, Regional Growth Team, England and Wales Cricket Board